Basque Stage Winner- Clifton Su

It’s November 5th, Monday morning.

My cell phone goes off, blaring the theme song from the movie The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou. Bleary eyed, I blindly pawed for my phone on my bed and picked up. I incoherently grunted “hello? who’s this”

It was Marti on the other end, and she was calling to announce that I had won the Rising Stars scholarship!

Oh man, you would not believe the sheer amount of adrenaline, joy, and relief I felt once I heard the great news!

If you don’t know already, the Basque Stage Sammic Rising Star Scholarship sends me to the Basque region of Spain to Restaurante Fronton de Tolosa run by Chef Roberto Ruiz. I am given housing and paid 500e/month during the 3 month stage.

I cannot wait to be fully immersed in the most authentic experience in the Basque region. In addition to being one of the most beautiful places in the world, Basque country also boasts an amazing amount of Michelin Starred restaurants, I can’t wait to try them all out!

Special thanks to John Tagamolila, your expertise, professionalism, and sheer talent in film definitely helped make all this possible! It was definitely a pleasure working with someone so talented and dedicated to their craft.

Thank you Chef Almir for letting me use the WSGR kitchen for my duck omakase shenanigans.

Congratulations  to Susy Santos for winning the Top Chef Scholarship, we’re gonna kill it in Spain, Chef!

Now, onward to hours of Rosetta Stone and studying  some Basque cuisine…

~ by Clifton Su on November 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
