Homemade Sukiyaki Shabu-shabu Style

Assembling a sukiyaki and shabu-shabu is insanely easy to do, it’s just a matter of gathering your desired ingredients and having some sort of electric skillet/pot.

What I did for this Sukiyaki:

Soup Base:

  • Dashi
  • Soy Sauce (both light and dark)
  • Mirin
  • Sake
  • Sugar

Meats and Vegetables:

  • Thin Sliced Rib-eye
  • Thin Sliced Pork Tenderloin
  • Napa Cabbage
  • Shitaki Mushrooms
  • Enoki Mushrooms
  • Mustard Greens (the Chinese kind)
  • Fried Tofu Squares
  • Blue Crabs (with roe)
  • Fish Cakes/Fish Balls
  • Fresh Shrimp Head-On
  • Rice Noodles (Fen Si)

First of all, I know this is not the traditional sukiyaki but my rendition of it, buy whatever meats or vegetables you would like and if you are lazy you can even buy a sukiyaki soup base (which I do on occasion). As with the listed ingredients (like the soup base) I usually just eye the amounts, but usually you add and taste as you go.

As for cooking the meat, shabu-shabu means to “swish swish” in Japanese (don’t quote me on this, I just read this from a menu at a great shabu place in Pasadena), so just swish your meat in the hot broth and eat. I usually like to cook mine until pink or medium rare, most people say this is dangerous and I would be spending an abnormal time in the bathroom but I’ve been eating meat like this since I was a kid and have had no trouble with it.

There’s also a dipping sauce which I’ve taken inspiration from one shabu-shabu place I’ve been to, here’s my recipe for it.

Sukiyaki Egg Dipping Sauce

  • One whole egg (fresh & pasteurized preferred)*
  • Sesame Oil
  • Chili Oil
  • Fresh Ground Pepper
  • Diced Fresh Scallions
  1. Beat the egg first in a small bowl that can be used for dipping.
  2. Add the desired amount of sesame oil and chili oil (you can make some interesting patterns with them)
  3. Add the pepper and scallions for garnish and taste.

*Disclaimer on eating raw eggs: as Alton Brown says, eggs contain very little salmonella and it’s very rare for eggs to have any salmonella, I have been eating raw eggs all my life and haven’t had any problems yet. If you are skeptical though, get pasteurized eggs since the pasteurizing process would eliminate all those bugs that would make your stomach sick.

~ by Clifton Su on December 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
