Simple Homemade Milk Tea

One thing I don’t get about people who go to tea stations, do they realize they are paying a very PREMIUM price for just tea and condensed milk?! Some people don’t realize it but it costs about 25 cents or less just to make milk tea… yet they pay 3 dollars and up at Cha?? Ridiculous.

Homemade Milk Tea

Cheap and easy to make, don't pay the premium price at tea stations.

Anyways here’s a VERY simple recipe for milk tea, using my favorite tea bags.

What you need:

  • 4 Bags of Rickshaw Black Tea
  • 6 Cups of Water (I like it strong)
  • Nestle Condensed Milk
  1. Basically bring the water to a boil (however much you like with your tea) and then turn off the heat once the water comes to a boil.
  2. Seep the tea bags in there and cover, for about 5 minutes.
  3. Pour in the condensed milk, taste as you go, some people like it sweeter and creamier, some like it lighter.
  4. Chill or serve hot.
~ by Clifton Su on October 28, 2009.

3 Responses to “Simple Homemade Milk Tea”

  1. your post made me get some boba milk tea lol…can u buy tapioca balls anywhere? guess that’s what i’m paying my 2 bucks for. wasn’t very good though.

    • I think you can get them at 99 Ranch or something, but they are very hard to cook from what I’ve heard and they dry out really easily when you store them!

  2. really ppl? Boba is extremely easy to make. I buy the WuFuYuan brand that is ready in 5 minutes. Sooo easy. I boil the water and add a few Tablespoons of sugar to the water. When it is boiled, I leave the stove on high and put the bubbles in. One package can easily serve 6 people. I kind of wait for the boba to float to the top and half of them sink. I then test a bubble to see if it’s cooked. The only thing is that I don’t quite know if it is possible to make the boba like some bubble tea places where they have the chewy center and silky outsides. I bet if you keep experimenting, you’ll get it.
    You can find these packages in Asian markets… Hmarts have them. I live in WA so I go to Beacon Hill, Seattle (ABC supermarket) and get mine for 1.89. Super cheap, and I get a lot for the money. Hope this helps anyone wanting to find boba!

Leave a Reply

 
