The Legendary Lucky Boy Breakfast Burrito

When people come visit me in my hometown of South Pasadena, they always ask me where the best eats are and I ALWAYS point them to Lucky Boys for their breakfast burritos.

I then warn them that they may experience extreme bliss and minor heart failure.

So on the same weekend that I relived my childhood food experiences by going to Senor Fish, I also went to Lucky Boy shortly after for dinner. My my I was really craving a piece of Pasadena. If you ask any Pasadena native they will probably say that Lucky Boy makes the best breakfast burritos on the planet (that’s also how you can tell if a person is from Pasadena or not). Anyways after getting lost for a bit (haven’t been driving around Pasadena in too long) and finally found Lucky Boy (which is also located next to the FIRST Trader Joes ever) I proceeded to order this massive feast wrapped in a tortilla.

I was greeted by the same rude and no bullshit attitude owner there who has worked there since I was a wee kid. He grumply took my change and called out for a breakfast burrito with the works. I decided to go all out and add all the possible meats available in the burrito: WHOLE crispy strips of bacon, WHOLE breakfast sausages, and giant chunks of creamy avocado. It was on the back of my mind but I also forgot to order their horchata which is equally amazing… but I think I could save on some calories since this burrito is probably going to put me back a couple thousand calories of greasy heart stopping goodness.

Too hungry to take a picture of the whole thing, I had to take a bite...

Too hungry to take a picture of the whole thing, I had to take a bite...

I quickly rushed back home while the burrito was still hot and boy was it heavier than I remembered it. This thing actually made a *thump* noise when I dropped it on the counter and it was thicker than my arm, this thing was fat. I ravenously unwrap the yellow wrapper and lord behold, the breakfast burrito was heading toward my gaping jaws.

Look at all that creamy avocado, fluffy eggs, crispy hashbrowns, and salty bacon :)

Look at all that creamy avocado, fluffy eggs, crispy hashbrowns, and salty bacon 🙂

The first bite was AMAZING. The tortilla had a very homemade chew to it and has an excellent tortilla flavor. My first bite was greeted with crispy crunchy heaps of hash browns, fluffy scrambled eggs, a chunk of bacon, a creamy melt-in-your-mouth piece of avocado, and a tip of savory sausage.  This was blissful to say the least. I quickly stuff more of it into my mouth; the flavors and textures worked perfectly from the crunch of the bacon and hash browns to the gooey cheese to the refreshingly creamy avocado.  The burrito came with a side of salsa verde which also added a spicy kick and helped cut the richness of everything in this burrito.

I wish I can just cuddle myself in that burrito and just live in there... this is just soooo good.

I wish I can just cuddle myself in that burrito and just live in there... this is just soooo good.

Several minutes into it and I devoured half of it, this burrito seems like it will never end! This honestly was definitely a satisfying experience and a blast back to high school where i ate this pretty much every few weeks (if I ate it more frequently I think I would be clinically obese by now). This seriously is a caloric freakout, but it was oh so good…

Sorry my hand was kind of shakey (too much cholesterol?) but the whole breakfast sausages take the burrito to the next level.

Sorry my hand was kind of shakey (too much cholesterol?) but the whole breakfast sausages take the burrito to the next level.

So if you are in Pasadena, PLEASE go to Lucky Boy and order the breakfast burrito. It seriously is a must and a taste of Pasadena :). Also try their horchata, zucchini fries, onion rings, and pastrami, all orders are pretty cheap and come in GIGANTIC proportions, its’ quantity and quality here!

P.S. Don’t think the cashier/owner is rude to you, he’s like that to everyone.

Lucky Boy Drive-In Restaurant

640 S Arroyo Pkwy
Pasadena, CA 91105
(626) 793-0120

~ by Clifton Su on August 18, 2009.

5 Responses to “The Legendary Lucky Boy Breakfast Burrito”

  1. i want to gooooo

  2. Hey Cliff! It’s me Elmomonster. Sorry it took so long to link you, I didn’t see your comment until just recently.

    • Oh that’s no problem Elmo! I just spend a great deal of time at work just reading your blog haha, seems like we’ve been to many similar places around Irvine and some in LA too!

  3. that breakfast burrito is no joke…i like how you get a good amount of meat in it. now to find my own b.burrito joint around home…

Leave a Reply

 
