Best Chips & Salsa Ever and Smoky Carne Asada at Yaqui’s Tacos

Well it’s another boring day at the D-Link office and I’m very hungry. My coworker Hart has introduced the whole marketing team to this place called Yaqui’s Tacos and now everyone is hooked on it. They serve a very unique carne asada since it’s grilled over wood thus imparting a smoky flavor on your tongue and on your clothes for that matter. I usually just grab a taco here and chips & salsa to satiate my hunger while I’m at work. Sometimes I even come here just to get a side of chips and salsa, they are THAT good.

I know this isn't what you'd expect for a picture of a taco, but how else could I show you the goodies that were inside that taco?

I know this isn't what you'd expect for a picture of a taco, but how else could I show you the goodies that were inside that taco?

Close up of the carne asada taco, that carne asada was really tender and lean!

Close up of the carne asada taco, that carne asada was really tender and lean!

First off the taco is pretty large; one can usually fill me up and it costs #3.88 for one, can’t go wrong with that! When I was unwrapping my taco it was rather juicy, there was a lot of salsa that was dripping out of the taco. This is one bad thing about thing about Yaqui’s tacos, they can be a bit watery from all the salsa they dump on it thus making it quite a mess to eat and also making the taco itself soggy if you let it sit for long enough. The taco was filled with the wood-grilled carne asada, beans, melted queso (cheese),  guacamole, salsa, cilantro, and freshly diced onions. The taco itself is very mild and the carne asada barely stands out amongst all the other ingredients and relies on the other ingredients to give it some “oomph.” The carne asada was very tender, lean, and had a very nice smoke ring on it but it lacked seasonings, this would be a ton better if they used a chile rub or something on it. All the whole though, it wasn’t bad and was devoured in a minute or two.

A small order of the chips and salsa, I usually get the bigger order but this is way cheaper!

A small order of the chips and salsa, I usually get the bigger order but this was way cheaper!

Here’s why I really come here, the chips and salsa! The chips are made on the spot and are VERY fresh and hot. They are seasoned with just plain salt and served with a side of homemade red tomato salsa. The chips themselves are very crispy and have a deep corn flavor that goes very well with the salsa and salt, thus making it one of the greatest chip and salsa combo that I have eaten in So Cal. The salsa was very fresh tasting and the onions in there still had a bite to them.

On the whole, I would totally recommend you the chips and salsa here if you are passing by Fountain Valley (I happen to work here) and if you want a quick fix of Mexican food, here’s a good place to try! I warn you though, you’ll walk out of the restaurant smelling like carne so I would have the lunch to-go if I were you!

This cubicle owns my soul, you would think after working here for almost a year I'd get a bigger cubicle...

This cubicle owns my soul, you would think that after working here for almost a year I'd get a bigger cubicle...

Now back to the cubicle… sigh.

Yaqui’s Tacos

Costco Plaza
17870 Newhope St #103
Costco Plaza

Fountain Valley, CA 92708

(714) 435-0226

~ by Clifton Su on July 15, 2009.

4 Responses to “Best Chips & Salsa Ever and Smoky Carne Asada at Yaqui’s Tacos”

  1. sounds pretty good…never seen a place that uses wood…will def. check this place out when i’m in the area. any other meats good besides the carne?

    • the pollo there is pretty good since they accidentally messed up more order, I actually will try the chicken taco again, i remembered it being very moist and more flavorful than the carne (but not as satisfying.. need red meat..)

  2. those chips look so darn tasty i started licking the computer screen

  3. i want to do them over and over again 😉 oh yeah

Leave a Reply

 
