The Sweet and Delicate Purple Mangosteen

I have a midterm tomorrow and I’m studying right now so I’ll make this one brief!

I came back home and was greeted by my parents who just arrived back from Taiwan and said they smuggled some Mangosteens over (my mom does this everytime she goes back to Asia haha) and told me to eat one. I will do so gladly mom and dad! By the way you can also find these at 99 Ranch, but be warned these are pretty expensive.

This thing needs like a chain saw to cut through.

This thing needs like a chain saw to cut through.

I still don’t know how to cut mangosteens, they are a bitch to cut since the outer shell is hard and quite thick and the whole thing is very round and slippery. After awhile I got pissed and got a cleaver and chopped the mangosteen in half with one big THWAP!

I know I didn't open it correctly but hey it's still edible and tastes the same :)

I know I didn't open it correctly but hey it's still edible and tastes the same 🙂

The flesh of the mangosteen is hard to describe. It’s citrusy, tangy, sweet, and peach like. It’s VERY delicate and the flesh itself surrounds a pit which you must spit out. The mangosteen has very little flesh for all the trouble you have to go through to open it and I also understood that they are quite expensive (12.99 a lb?).

If you can sample one of these things, do so, you won’t regret it. Delicate, sweet, tangy, citrusy, peachy, it has it all!

~ by Clifton Su on July 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
