Happy July 4th! It’s BARBECUE Time

Hey everyone! Sorry I’m in a very deep food coma right now so I’ll probably be keeping this entry pretty short. To start it off, I have celebrated every single July 4th of my life (as long as I can remember) with my uncle barbecuing in the front lawn with some beers (yes even when I was little) and vast amounts of chicken, beef, and pork. That’s what I call a barbeque! The grill was filled with bone-in chicken breast, baby back ribs, spencer steaks (very beautifully marbled ribeye steaks), and sweet corn. The corn was literally like crack, it was so plump and SWEET that it was devoured so fast I didn’t manage to get a picture of it. I think the trade secret was to grill them in their own husks and to rub butter on the inside of the husks to bathe the corn in buttery goodness.

The secret to great barbecue? Good meat, good marinades*, good beer, and good company. Also the trick is to use charcoal grills and cook the meats low and slow… thus resulting in a luscious melt in your mouth piece of meat!

The bone-in chicken breast resting before being cut.

The bone-in chicken breast resting before being cut.

Juicy and smokey... why can't all chicken be this good?

Juicy and smokey... why can't all chicken be this good?

The chicken was very juicy and had a great smokey flavour but did not possess a smoke ring since smoking this too long can result in sucking the moisture out of the chicken breast. Also try to use a bone-in chicken breast since the bone imparts a LOT of the chicken flavor and helps keep the meat moist and succulent.

The Spencer Steak with the baby back rib. Look at that smoke ring!! A+ on the smoking Uncle Ewing!

The Spencer Steak with the baby back rib. Look at that smoke ring!! A+ on the smoking Uncle Ewing!

Fresh off the grill...sorry I took a huge bite at it before I even got the camera ready, it was that good!

Fresh off the grill...sorry I took a huge bite at it before I even got the camera ready, it was that good!

Pile of pure epicness.

Pile of pure epicness.

Next came the pork ribs, you can clearly see the smoke ring on these babies (the pink tinge on the outside of the meat) meaning that these were properly smoked! The baby back ribs were fall off the bone tender with a snap when biting and chewing it, very VERY satisfying! Perfectly moist and had an excellent flavor from the marinade*.

Simple one of the most tender and succulent steaks I have ever had... simply perfect!

Simple one of the most tender and succulent steaks I have ever had... simply perfect!

The finale was the spencer steaks which are also known as ribeye steaks, but in my opinion they are the “prime” cuts of the rib eye. The steak was HEAVILY marbled, you can clearly see the fat in each bite. The meat was cooked to a perfect medium rare and had an amazing mouth feel texture, it was kind of like melt in your mouth but not so much like filet mignon but it also had a bit of chew to it, it was very satisfying! The marinade* mixed with the charcoal flavour was absolutely amazing and clearly made it the best barbecued dish of the night! I definently wanted more of it… can’t you tell I just love ribeye steaks?

Asahi Dry

Asahi Dry

For the beer, my uncle drank Miller Lite (haha, that’s not real beer!) while my dad and I drank Asahi Dry, the beer is possibly the only beer I ever liked right off the bat. The beer was very light and crisp. The drink-ability was very smooth (even for a beer hater) and had a touch of sweetness and hops, it was possibly one of the most well balanced beers I have ever drank. It’s also perfect for clearing your mouth of the fatty porkiness from munching on ribs too.

Well with that said, happy fourth of July everyone! Be safe!

* Disclaimer: I don’t describe or release how the marinade tastes since it is a secret me and my uncle share… you’ll just have to taste it. Hint: It’s something you probably had before (if you are Chinese) but you have NEVER used for barbecue.

~ by Clifton Su on July 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
