Italy In a To Go Box

I have been dining at Carmine’s since I was a small boy, I grew up on this stuff and apparently after eating around several Italian places (like Buca, which is horrible), there is no match.

It was dinner at home, so my family gave me the honors of ordering the dishes, so I ordered my two favorite dishes of all time there, the eggplant parmigiana and the pasta pescatore.

The Eggplant Parmigiana was amazing... I can eat two of those.

The Eggplant Parmigiana was amazing... I can eat two of those.

The eggplant parmigiana was steaming hot; it was full of melted mozzarella that mixed very well with the bold marinara sauce. Amongst the thick slices of tender eggplant were hard boiled egg slices which gave the parmigiana a extra boost in texture and flavour. I can literally devour this in 5 minutes ( I have before) and is best eaten hot when the mozzarella is melted and gooey.

Pasta Pescatore... mmm

Pasta Pescatore... mmm

The pasta pescatore was chock full of scallops, clams, and shrimp floating in a delicious pink sauce. The pink sauce consisted of a white cream sauce mixed in with a marinara sauce so it still had the robust flavor of a Alfredo sauce and is cut by the tang of tomatoes in the marinara. The clams were a bit chewy along with the baby scallops, but the pasta itself was delicious and married well with the seafood. Oh and did I mention the sauce was overflowing with garlic? I wouldn’t recommend any kissing after this meal =P

Carmine’s Italian Restaurant & Bar

424 Fair Oaks Ave
South Pasadena, CA 91030

(626) 799-2266

~ by Clifton Su on June 7, 2009.

One Response to “Italy In a To Go Box”

  1. the pescatore looks really gooood. i love baby scallops ❤

Leave a Reply

 
