Celebrating Memorial Day with Korean Good Eats and Drinks

Very patriotic for me to celebrate Memorial Day with my friends by eating Korean BBQ and drinking soju. I really should stop eating Korean BBQ, my heart hurt a little bit today at work… or it was from probably from me sleeping funny on my keys and cell phone. Anyways, too much Korean BBQ!

The table before the inevitable feasting on cow and pig.

The table before the inevitable feasting on cow and pig.

So after I came back from Arrowhead retreat with a certain affliation at school, I told myself that I would start eating healthy more and also stop drinking since my liver probably can’t take another ounce of liquor. Little did I know that my friend just came back from Wellesly so we are going out for a very smokey and inebriated night.

The brisket is amazing as usual, melt in your mouth tender goodness.

The brisket is amazing as usual, melt in your mouth tender goodness.

Bacon and Brisket... amazing.

Bacon and Brisket... amazing.

First was dinner, we went to Haejangchon Dalgooi again and had LOTS of marinated squid along with the normal brisket and thick cut bacon. They also had a few panchans that I had not seen before which included a very sour vegetable which I detested and also a very strange crunchy cold panchan that looked like glass noodles but was actually a very crunchy noodle… it was a little refreshing but it was either a hit or miss amongst the table.

Soju and fruit plate! Had one too many shots... haha

Soju and fruit plate! Had one too many shots... haha

After filling up on an endless amount of brisket, bacon, and squid, we headed out to Vermont Karoake and Billiards Bar  and ordered 3 carafes of soju. The soju flavors included apple, pineapple, melon, yogurt, lemon, and grape. We ordered 2 lemons and 1 yogurt and both were delicious (actually they were kind of gross but after a few shots it started to taste wonderful!). The lemon and yogurt soju were both mixed with some 7-up to make it smooth going down. The lemon soju was personally my favorite because I think citrust tends to cut out the taste of alcohol and the yogurt soju had a nice creamy and tart taste but it wasn’t enough to cover up the nasty taste of soju.  We also had a fruit plate, all the fruit on it was very ripe and was pretty delicious (except the watermelon wasn’t that sweet but it was nice and crisp).  The soju was much needed for me to sing at karoake, it is something that I detest dearly and would not normally do. The bill turned out to be 75 dollars (25 each) for the soju, my god I never spent that much on alcohol all at once and still walk away relatively sober.

Haejangchon Dolgooi Restaurant

3821 W 6th Street,

Los Angeles, CA 90020

(213) 389-8777

www.haejangchon.com

Vermont Karoake and Billiards
191 S Vermont Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90189

(213) 385-3337

~ by Clifton Su on May 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Celebrating Memorial Day with Korean Good Eats and Drinks”

  1. wow this place looks bomb. is this place ayce? that soju is pretty expensive. i haven’t had flavored soju for a long time…makes me want to get some now haha

  2. yeah it’s All you can eat everything! most ppl like this place because it’s more than the run of the mill AYCE korean bbq place (rhyme?) since it offers squid and kimchi fried rice.

Leave a Reply

 
