Leftovers Fit for a Champion

Remember the review I did for Chang’s Garden and how I loved the seaweed fried fish and the beef rolled in a Chinese style tortilla (bing)? Well I just got some leftovers from when my mom and dad went… so that was lunch for me in a nutshell.

Best leftovers lunch ever.

Best leftovers lunch ever.

It was a glorious spread of all the typical Chinese good eats ranging from the fried fish, beef rolls, head cheese, roast duck, and a steamed bun. The beef rolls were great when toasted and the head cheese was devoured with some black vinegar. The roast duck was alright since there was no way to revive the crispy skin and I find that reheating poultry lead to chewy and dry results. For the steamed sweet bun I wrapped it in a wet paper towel to give it moisture since it was rock hard out of the fridge.

My favorite... light, flaky, crunchy, just the right amount of salty, 100% awesome.

My favorite... light, flaky, crunchy, just the right amount of salty, 100% awesome.

Now the glory moment, I reheated the fried fish in the oven and oh my it was still crispy and succulunt like I remembered it. Salty, crunchy, and flaky, this was one of the best fried fish dishes I had ever had to this date. After I finished the last piece (I was quite sad) I had to go to class, it was a blissful 15 minutes of leftovers.

~ by Clifton Su on May 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
