Fighting Romulans and Fried Bird In the Morning

So I went out to go see Star Trek with Richard and Kevin at the Alhambra Stadium 14 Theater at 11:00 PM. It was surprisingly good since I did NOT like Star Trek when I was younger (more of a Star Wars guy). The movie was very action packed, it blended CGI and real life people perfectly and the storyline did not disappoint (although at times hard to believe, but hey, it’s Star Trek). From beginning to end, I was on the edge of my seat with all the action, there wasn’t one boring moment!

Spock and Kirk on the bridge, everything looks so much better than the older Star Trek!

Spock and Kirk on the bridge, everything looks so much better than the older Star Trek!

After the movie, we went to Garden Cafe at 1:30 AM and the restaurant was amazingly packed. We were immediately sat down and ordered vegetable soup, grilled pork chops, fried chicken for me, and a baked pork chop dish for kevin. Oh yes, and we also ordered their lemon iced teas, they are LITERALLY the best lemon iced teas I’ve ever had, I can drink around 10 cups of those! Funny how I always wonder why I never sleep after…

The Vegetable Soup

The Vegetable Soup

The vegetable soup was very basic, it was very strong and thick because of the potatoes that were cooked in it and it tasted strongly of carrots, celery, cabbage, and tomato. It was very hot and tasty and it came with a side of saltine crackers to make the soup more substantial.

Baked Pork Chop In Tomato Sauce

Baked Pork Chop In Tomato Sauce

Next came Kevin’s baked pork chops, it looked very goopy and messy with the cheese melted on top, it honestly looked unappetizing. I had it before, it was sweet and salty with a strong tomato flavor, it’s not the best thing here but it’s passable.

Golden brown and delicious...

Golden brown and delicious...

Next came my fried chicken, the skin was AMAZINGLY flavorful and crunchy, it was what I was exactly craving at 2  in the morning, something golden deep fried and delicious. I ate every juicy morsel, and it also came with a side of tomato fried rice which was kind of bland at the time so I didn’t care much for it so I just concentrated on the chicken.

Lastly was Richard’s grilled pork chops, it looked pretty succulent and had a nice crust on it. It was one on the flat top grill thus giving it a nice even golden brown look.

Overall, the night was awesome with the movie and having a midnight snack at Garden Cafe with some good company 🙂

Garden Cafe

228 W. Valley Boulevard

Alhambra, CA 91801

(626) 289-1833

~ by Clifton Su on May 11, 2009.

One Response to “Fighting Romulans and Fried Bird In the Morning”

  1. oooh was star trek really good? i wanna see it =/

Leave a Reply

 
