Surprisingly Good Chinese Food for the Soul

So as a pregame for Mother’s Day dinner, my family wanted to go to Cast Away for their Sunday brunch but it was all booked until 2:00 PM so my parents decided on going to another restaurant. I didn’t know about this as I came home a day early just to make it in time for the brunch (their seafood bar and waffles… did I mention unlimited champagne?) but was greatly dissapointed when my mom told me that we would not be going there and would instead be going to some Chinese food restaurant. Normally for Mother’s Day events my family chooses some really nice places, but COMMON some Chinese restaurant that I’ve never heard of for lunch? This better be amazing…

To my surprise, it was amazing, and MORE. We ordered Xiao Long Bao (little dumplings with soup), some dry noodles (sichuan pepper sauce mixed with peanut butter), vegetables, peking duck, a beef rolled with an amazingly crusty bing(a sort of Chinese tortilla but WAY better than a tortilla), braised abalone, and by far the most crispy and fresh green onion pancakes I have ever eaten in the United States. The green onion pancake was very hot and fresh and it has a chew and crunch that had great  mouth feel. Crunchy, salty, onions, chewy, light, crisp, YES it has it all! Too bad I didn’t get a picture of it since it was consumed nearly on the spot.

The super lucious pork belly, it was fork tender and melt in your mouth good.

The super lucious pork belly, it was fork tender and melt in your mouth good.

One of my all time favorites that knocked my socks off about this restaurant was the braised Pork Belly, it MELTED and fell apart in your mouth, it was very juicy and succulent. It was definitely one of my favorites on the table.For those of you who do not know what pork belly is, imagine the most fatty piece of bacon ever that’s cut into a giant block of heart stopping goodness.

Seeweed fried fish with the beef rolls in the back. Both were AMAZING.

Seaweed fried fish with the beef rolls in the back. Both were AMAZING.

The second thing that arrived at the table that blew me away was the seaweed fried fish. It looked kind of gnarly at first but there was a plate of it on EVERY single table on the restaurant so I figured it should be alright so I gave it a try. I think I nearly ate half of the dish that was ment for at least 10 people… it was SO fresh and crunchy on the outside and the white flaky fish on the inside was moist and light.

Anyways I will be returning here sometime soon because of the pork belly, green onion pancakes, beef roll ups, adn the fried fish, it literally was very very outstanding.

Chang’s Garden

627 W Duarte Rd

Arcadia, CA 91007

(626) 445-0606

~ by Clifton Su on May 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
