Smokey Korean BBQ after Ripping Up Our Tires at Streets of Willow 04/18/09

This is part 2 of the adventure after loading up our bikes and going to Carmines. Me and Lerry departed to the Palmdale/Lancaster area to go to Streets of Willow (Willowsprings) to go track out motorcycles for the first time! It was utterly thrilling and heart stopping at some points (my foot got caught under a peg and scraped it for a good 3 seconds on the asphalt) and ended pretty much on a good note, well… aside from Lerry crashing, but he did a superb job on dragging his knees 🙂

Me at Streets of Willow

Me at Streets of Willow

After we loaded up our bikes and drove the long 2 hours back to LA, I accidentally took the 110 South instead of the 110 North so I decided to just go to my favorite Korean BBQ restaurant in K-town… you guessed it, Haejangchon Dolgooi! Lerry hasn’t been to this place but he is about to experience the awesomeness of it.

We walked (and gimped) across the street to the restaurant with a Pig smacking its lips (you know it’s gotta be good) and we get seated immediately (surprise on a Saturday night at 7pm!) and got a very enthusiastic and friendly waitress (she grazed my arm a lot.. kinda weird) and started to set up our BBQ station.

Before the onslaught of beef and pork!

Before the onslaught of beef and pork!

We were served the usual panchan of kimchi/beansprouts, brocolli rab with egg, steamed egg, wasabi daikon, duk (rice wrappers), and potatoe salad. There isn’t a whole lot of variety here for panchans but I didn’t care because this place really excels in its beef (namely the brisket). We were also served iced tea water, it was very refreshing (even though at first when I first came here a couple years ago I thought it was rusty tap water due to the brown tint the tea gave the water.. hah), it was sweet and nutty which made me down a couple cups worth before eating.  Hm come to think of it I could’ve tricked Lerry into thinking it was rusty tap and just drank everything myself…

The epic brisket has arrived.

The epic brisket has arrived.

Melt in your mouth beefy goodness!

Melt in your mouth beefy goodness!

After a couple of minute our order of brisket arrives. It was beautifully marbled and melt in your mouth tender… I can feel my arteries clogging right now just thinking about it! We later ordered some pork belly and also some squid. The squid here is fresh and quite large to boot. It has a very … milky? flavor to it, lots of squid flavor with a good crunch and a good crust from searing it on the stone pan.

A perfect way to end the meal, even if it was too filling.

A perfect way to end the meal, even if it was too filling.

After the meat the waitress asked us if we wanted any rice, I urged Lerry to have some since he was a rice boy and must have his rice. The rice came with some bean paste soup and it was amazingly good, too bad I was already too full to finish it all. After that we were stinky, food comad, exhausted from tracking, and just wanted to go home… unfortunately for Lerry home was back in Irvine 😦

I want one....

I want one....

By the way I spotted an Audi R8 parked outside of the restaurant, I don’t know anyone would dare or be stupid enough to take such a nice car into a parking lot full of Asians who barely passed their license tests and also to stink up their car with all that Korean BBQ smoke!

Haejangchon Dolgooi Restaurant

3821 W 6th Street,

Los Angeles, CA 90020

(213) 389-8777

~ by Clifton Su on April 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Smokey Korean BBQ after Ripping Up Our Tires at Streets of Willow 04/18/09”

  1. me crashing, me gimping…T.T

    thanks cliff, tough love

  2. least you had a good meal after 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
