Grilled Pork Belly…need I say more?!

Ah, once in awhile, the fatty in me fully emerges and I make one of my favorite things from my many trips to Korean BBQ joints… pork belly! I went to 99 Ranch to go get a big pack… it’s surprisingly cheap for a full pound, but keep in mind that these babies shrink like crazy when cooked!

Grilled pork belly... you know you want it...

Grilled pork belly... you know you want it...

After grilling the pork belly slowly ( you can sautee them but eventually all the oil will start to render out… it will literally form an inch of pork fat oil cooking more pork fat… epic, I know!) I grabbed some hot bean paste and mixed together some fresh ground pepper and kosher salt with sesame oil. I also washed and prepared some red leaf lettuce to wrap the belly in them. You can serve this with rice and kimchi, but I feel it covers the delicate flavor of pork here and is a bit overpowering (the kimchi), but do whatever you like! You’re the cook 🙂

It's as Korean as it gets!

It's as Korean as it gets!

Total cost of this meal? Well if I wasn’t counting the material I already had in my cupboard (salt/pepper/oil/beanpaste) this cost about 5 dollars to make… YES FIVE DOLLARS!! 🙂

Nom nom nom…

~ by Clifton Su on April 26, 2009.

One Response to “Grilled Pork Belly…need I say more?!”

  1. this makes me hungry right now when i just had lunch 40 minutes aog….

Leave a Reply

 
