Going Italian Before Streets of Willow 04/17/09

So it was Friday 04/17/09 and I arrived home early before Lerry and Angel to get my bike cleaned up for loading it into the van for transport.

03 Suzuki SV650s after a good wash!

03 Suzuki SV650s after a good wash!

Twinkie, my oh so fluffy dog  decided to visit me while I washed my bike.

Twinkie riding on the SV650s :) Ain't he cute?

Twinkie riding on the SV650s 🙂 Ain't he cute?

After, my friend Brian came over and helped us with loading the bikes, nothing like hauling 400 lbs of dead weight up a ramp!

The bikes loaded into the van.

The bikes loaded into the van.

Anyways after I treated Lerry and Angel out to some good Italian food in South Pasadena. The place is called Carmines, it’s a nice little restaurant with some good ambiance. I have been coming to this place since I was a kid, I grew up on this stuff and my god it’s good! It’s by far WAY better than Buca (that isn’t even considered good Italian food… it’s like Mcdonalds is to burgers).

Carmine's Garlic Bread with Olive Oil

Carmine's Garlic Bread with Olive Oil

We first started off with some olive oil and bread, and to my surprise, they served a garlic toast instead of the old fresh baked bun that they used to serve with just olive oil and butter. The olive oil has a richness to it from soaking in all those herbs in the bottle makes this extremely rich and tasty, I could just eat this all night!

Carmine's Salad

Carmine's Salad

We also got a salad, it came with lots of briney olives and also some fresh mozzarella cheese, it was very refreshing, but I wasn’t really feeling the salad. It was good, but not great.

Fried Calamari... mmmm

Fried Calamari... mmmm

Next came the fried calamari appetizer. It was heavily battered but it was hot and fresh from the fryer which makes it an A+ fried dish in my book. The squid was pretty tiny inside but tender. I still think Claim Jumper has some of the best fried calamari sticks that I’ve ever tried. The portion was very huge too for 7 dollars, a fair and good deal in my opinion.

Gumbi! Sooooo filling...

Gumbi! Sooooo filling...

The Gumbi was very filling and it was a HUGE portion, I still to this date have not finished it. It’s filled with meatballs, mozzerella, and mushrooms and is very rich, after a few bites I was already feeling full.

Pasta Pescatore! SO GOOD!

Pasta Pescatore! SO GOOD!

Our final dish was the Pasta Pescatore. This FLAT OUT is the BEST pasta dish here, I absolutely loved this since I was 10 years old. The dish is filled with small shrimps, scallops, and clams. It’s rounded out with a pink sauce (I think a combo of Marinera and Cream sauce) which perfectly matched the seafood, it wasn’t too creamy and not too acidic. I was very pleased with the pasta and it was the first to get finished!

So if you’re ever in South Pasadena, go check Carmine’s out if you want some good ambience (loud rustic Italian) and some great Italian food at affordable prices. Plus the portions are huge for what you pay!

Carmine’s Italian Restaurant

424 Fair Oaks Ave
South Pasadena, CA 91030
(626) 799-2266

http://www.carminesrestaurantandbar.com

~ by Clifton Su on April 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
