Ride to Malibu with Jane!

So it all started with me taking my crush(she’s a cutie!) out for a nice cruise down PCH to Malibu beach and also a very very good restaurant. When I picked her up she surprised me with a very very cute (and hot) Italian Alpinestars jacket.

Jane with her hot Alpinestars jacket and awesome mirror lensed helmet ;)

Jane with her hot Alpinestars jacket and awesome mirror lensed helmet 😉

Before we head off on a very long ride to PCH toward Malibu I made a quick reservation for two at Geoffrey’s Malibu, I heard that place gets pretty packed due to it’s amazing views and brunch. We head along out way through PCH and my god what a beautiful day to go for a ride with a equally beautiful girl! Something about riding along the blue ocean and blue sky made me feel so free and happy.

Ford GT and Ferrari parked next to my bike!

Ford GT and Ferrari parked next to my bike!

When we arrive to Geoffrey’s, we get VIP motorcycle parking and we get to park next to a Ford GT and a Ferrari, hehe prime parking! Plus it was free haha, the valet guy shot me a dirty look since he won’t be getting any tips from me.

Table view with our helmets :), awesome ocean view!

Table view with our helmets :), awesome ocean view!

We are greeted by a nice hostess who made the remark of “Ohhh a bike! I want a ride!” and sat us down at a very nice private corner table. The view from the restaurant was simply amazing, it showed the complete beach front. It was a very bright and sunny day, IE the very squinty eyes that I am making in future pictures.

Tuna Tartar!

Fresh Ahi Tuna Tartar with fresh avocado, scallions, ginger, red onions, wonton crisp and Tobeiko caviar

We started off with some fresh baked rosemary olive oil bread, it was quite tasty to the point where I ate two, which was a big mistake since the portions here are actually quite large for a nice restaurant. Anyways we decided to ask the waiter what he thought was the best appetizer and he suggested the Fresh Ahi Tuna Tartar
with fresh avocado, scallions, ginger, red onions, wonton crisp and Tobeiko caviar . I kind of didn’t want the tuna tartar since it seems like a trend that most restaurants are picking up by just putting together ahi tuna scraps with some seasoning. I did put my trust in the waiter and decided to go with his suggestion, he does of course work there! When the tuna tartar arrived, it looked like a typical tartar but when I grabbed one of those homemade chips and scooped up some of the tuna, I was hooked. The fish quality was very fresh; it was not the sushi scraps you get at most restaurants, it was very fresh and clean and was accented with the spicy siracha sauce that the tartar came with. The wasabi masago on top added a nice pop of salt and fishyness and the avacado lended a smooth texture that brought all the flavors together. Overall it was a well executed tuna tartar.

Sautèed Day Boat Sea Scallops with Hudson Valley foie gras risotto and a drizzle of star anise infused pomegranate reduction

Sautèed Day Boat Sea Scallops with Hudson Valley foie gras risotto and a drizzle of star anise infused pomegranate reduction

The next came the main courses. I ordered the  Sautèed Day Boat Sea Scallops
with Hudson Valley foie gras risotto and a drizzle of star anise infused pomegranate reduction. These scallops put a WoW on my face, they were so succulent and tender, I didn’t even need to use my knife to cut them and I actually took small bites just to savor it! It had an outstandingly buttery crust with a very medium rare center, just like how scallops of these quality should be cooked like. The pomegranate reduction really rounded out the scallops and cut through the richness of the risotto. The bits and pieces of foie gras in the risotto made it extra luxurious, I did end up  giving Jane the biggest foie gras pieces since she loved it so much :).  Overall a superb dish that made me savor every single bite!

Seafood Paella with prawns, mussels, manila clams, scallops, chorizo, chicken, saffron rice in a seafood broth

Seafood Paella with prawns, mussels, manila clams, scallops, chorizo, chicken, saffron rice in a seafood broth

Next came Jane’s Seafood Paella with prawns, mussels, manila clams, scallops, chorizo, chicken, saffron rice in a seafood broth. Keep in mind that I have been to Barcelona, Spain and that was where I had my very first paellas, so I have been spoiled by the very best and is usually critical to poorly crafted paellas. The overall paella was tasty, it had plenty of rice with a risotto consistency and LOTS of seafood. I was very surprsied on how much seafood they put in there, usually most restaurants and stingy with the seafood by this paella had at least 10 mussels, a few scallops (not as great as the ones I had but still exceptional!),  and some very big prawns (a tad overcooked). It was actually a very big portion and Jane had to get me to eat it up, but I was already full from the rich foie gras risotto. The only gripes I had with this paella was that it lacked the crust that a traditional paella pan can give and also that the paella was a bit more on the soupy side, nonetheless it was very good.

Jane and I at our table :)

Jane and I at our table 🙂

Midway through the meal, it got super hot and Jane started to sweat a bit from the intense heat so we had to ask for the waiter to put up a umbrella. It got pretty hot to the point where it was painful to pick up my knife since it got so hot and it was near impossible to spread butter on my bread since the butter melted the minute it touched the knife and was already melting from the super hot table. It was perfect though once they put the umbrella for us,  it was very cool and was perfect :).

Jane and I right before we headed off again down PCH <3

Jane and I right before we headed off again down PCH ❤

We later left (I still can’t believe I got such prime parking for free!) and we went down PCH a bit more to take a stroll on a private beach (we didn’t know at the time). It was very nice way to end the brunch date as we strolled along the beautiful Malibu coast line!

Jane stuck in the stand and being a dork =P

Jane stuck in the sand and being a dork =P

Malibu Coast

Malibu Coast

Sad Panda Face

Sad Panda Face

Jane on my SV650s, she looks good on it ;)

Jane on my SV650s, she looks good on it 😉

Bobble Heads Rock! :)

Bobble Heads Rock! 🙂

So overall I suggest Geoffrey’s for the perfect place for a date, I heard at night they even light up their torches to make it even more spectacular romantic ambiance.

Geoffrey’s Malibu

27400 Pacific Coast Highway

Malibu, CA 90265

(310) 457-1519

~ by Clifton Su on April 16, 2009.

One Response to “Ride to Malibu with Jane!”

  1. such a cute post! and i love all the food descriptions. the paella looks so good! and yay for “jane and i” 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
