Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill

My aunt and uncle invited me to go on a Vegas trip with them to check out the new Caesar’s Palace suites, so one night they let me choose a restaurant and since we were staying at Caesar’s I felt I should check out Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill. I want to see what all the fuss is about for this celebrity chef and to see if his food is really good as everyone says it is! Time to visit the Iron Chef!

Mesa Grill Entrance

Mesa Grill Entrance

Upon walking into the restaurant, I was greeted by a pretty cute hostess and a very very cool looking bar and a amazing dining setting.

The walls have fruits and veggies on them!

The walls have fruits and veggies on them!

Mesa Grill Bar! It's so colorful and pretty...

Mesa Grill Bar! It's so colorful and pretty...

We were seated in a prime location where I could easily view the grill station… I was looking for Bobby but I guess he wasn’t in house yet!

Mesa Grill Interior

Mesa Grill Interior

The breads had a hidden spicy kick to them!

The breads had a hidden spicy kick to them!

The waiter then brought out a bread basket, it had some very interesting breads in there like a spiced cornbread and my favorite: a sourdough bread with jalopenos inside! The breads packed a subtle spicy kick!

Shrimp Tamale... oh sooo good.

Shrimp Tamale... oh sooo good.

We started off with a shrimp tamale appetizer, it was sinfully smooth, the cornmeal of the tamale was amazing with the rich cream sauce. The shrimp was succulent and fresh with just the right amount of crunch, it was cooked beautifully. The accents of red chili oil with cilantro oil give this dish a colorful flare and the look of some of Bobby’s dishes on Iron Chef. It’s like being one of the judges on that show! Very pleased with this appetizer 🙂

Spice Crusted Pork Tenderloin with Bourbon and Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

Spice Crusted Pork Tenderloin with Bourbon and Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

Next the main courses came in, I had the Spice Crusted Pork Tenderloin with Bourbon and Roasted Red Pepper sauce and a Sweet Potato tamale. The tenderloin changed my view on pork, literally. It was served a medium with a slight pink in the center (that’s how you really eat pork!) and my god, it ate better than steak!! The bourbon sauce was very smoky in contrast to the fiery red pepper sauce, and it was also pleasant on the eyes with all the colors!

Chipotle Crusted Rib-eye with Pesto Mashed Potatoes!

Chipotle Crusted Rib-eye with Pesto Mashed Potatoes!

My uncle ordered the chipotle glazed rib-eye with a mango salsa on top, it looked tempting but I’m glad I got the pork tenderloin. The rib-eye was cooked to perfection but lacked the special “hmmm that’s good, what’s that?” element to it. Don’t get me wrong, it was a great steak with plenty of spice and smokey flavor, but it lacked depth of the unique mixture of spices that the pork had. The pesto mashed potatoes were amazing by the way 🙂

Mesa Grill Fish!

Mesa Grill Fish!

My aunt had the seafood dish out of all of us… I forgot what fish it was but it wasn’t very outstanding and was clearly the weaker dish out of the night.. it was normal and lacked the Southwestern flare that Bobby Flay is so known for.

Cornbread Bread Pudding with Poached Pears and Ginger Ice Cream

Cornbread Bread Pudding with Poached Pears and Ginger Ice Cream

Last came the desert, I’m a sucker for cornbread bread pudding, but the weird ginger ice cream totally threw off my taste buds and I actually ended up not liking it. The ginger ice cream was really overpowering by itself and was thankfully mellowed out when you eat it with the sauce, pears, and bread pudding.  This definitely was not the best bread pudding I had, it was the most unique, but certainly not the best, I can even make a better one!

It's so nice!

It's so nice!

Looking for Bobby Flay for one last time... but I guess he wasn't in house :(

Looking for Bobby Flay for one last time... but I guess he wasn't in house 😦

My final statement for the experience at Mesa Grill would be that Bobby definently has something going for him with this Southwestern style of cooking, it was a very unique and new experience for me and inspired me with it’s unique and complex flavors! I will return one day to NOM NOM NOM here, it made me even buy the Mesa Grill cook book 🙂

3570 Las Vegas Blvd S
Caesars Palace
Las Vegas, NV 89136

(877) 346-4642

~ by Clifton Su on April 15, 2009.

4 Responses to “Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill”

  1. u take some really nice pictures of your food. haha

  2. shrimp tamale and cornbread bread pudding sounds sooo good. too bad the ice cream with the bread pudding was a disappointment ):

  3. yeah the ice cream was totally gingery, i didn’t like it at all

Leave a Reply

 
